This post is also available in: deDeutsch

What lives in the glacier?

Glacier-microbiota,

cryoconite-pools, snow-algae

High up in the mountains you can find the ice glaciers, and although they are very cold, microorganisms can live even there. The bacteria prefer to live around dirt particles, because they like to eat dirt. 

Where the white snow and the glacier ice throw back the warming sunlight and where there is dirt, the sunlight stays.

As a result, it gets warmer and the dirt melts a hole in the ice and the melted water forms a small lake. In this tiny lake (cryoconite) live bacteria, fungi, other microorganisms and tardigrades.  You can see them under the microscope.

1) Heart shaped cryoconite / 2) Bacteria / Algae growing directly under lamps on ice in the Hintertux glacier / 3) alpine tardigrade (water bear)

Project description

Glacier surfaces are populated by a variety of organisms that are perfectly adapted to cold and high UV radiation, but also reduce the albedo of glaciers. The solar radiation forms cylindrical depressions (cryoconite holes) filled with meltwater and sediments, which are highly active habitats for bacteria, fungi, algae, viruses and multicellular organisms.

The genesis of a cryoconite hole is reproduced on an artificial glacier under heat lamps. The organisms (snow and ice algae, glacier area and tardigrades) can be viewed in the microscope.

Idea & Organization

Birgit Sattler (Institute of Ecology)

Was lebt eigentlich im Gletscher?

Gletscher-Mikrobiota,

Kryokonit-Pools, Schneealgen

Hoch in den Bergen sind die Eisgletscher, und obwohl sie so kalt sind, leben auch dort Mikroorganismen. Dort wo kleine Schmutzteilchen sind, leben die Bakterien am Liebsten, denn sie fressen den Schmutz so gerne. 

Wo der weiße Schnee und das Gletschereis das wärmende Sonnenlicht zurückwerfen und wo Schmutz ist, bleibt das Sonnenlicht picken.

Dadurch wird es dort wärmer und der Schmutz schmilzt ein Loch ins Eis und das geschmolzene Wasser bildet einen kleinen See. In diesem winzigen See (Kryokonit) leben dann Bakterien und Pilze und andere Mikroorganismen, und auch Bärtierchen.  Das könnt ihr in dem Mikroskop sehen.

1) Herzförmiger Kryokonit / 2) Bakterien/Algen, die im Hintertuxer Gletscher unter den Lampen direkt auf Eis wachsen. / 3) Alpines Bärtierchen

Projektbeschreibung

Gletscheroberflächen sind von einer Vielzahl von Organismen besiedelt, welche perfekt an Kälte und hohe UV-Strahlung angepasst sind, jedoch auch die Albedo eines Gletschers reduzieren. Durch die Sonnenstrahlung bilden sich mit Schmelzwasser und Sedimenten gefüllte zylinderförmige Vertiefungen (Kryokonitlöcher), welche hochaktive Lebensräume für Bakterien, Pilze, Algen, Viren und Mehrzeller darstellen.

Die Genese eines Kryokonitloches wird auf einem künstlichen Gletscher unter Wärmelampen nachgebildet. Die Organismen (Schnee- und Eisalgen, Gletscherfläche sowie Bärtierchen) können am Mikroskop betrachtet werden.

Idee & Organisation

Birgit Sattler (Institut für Ökologie)